Board of Directors

Advisory Board

Finance Committee
Programming Committee
Membership Committee
Governance Review Committee


Board of Directors

The Board of Directors manages the business affairs of Melbourne Community Television Consortium Ltd, in accordance with the provisions of the Corporations Act 2001.

Six of the directors are elected by the Assembly at the Annual General Meeting of the company for two year terms, with half of those six directors retiring each year. Nominees to be elected as directors must be nominated by two Members of the company. The Assembly President is also an ex-officio director.

The Board may also co-opt up to five people to act as directors to enhance the Board's skill base in areas such as finance, law, business management, television broadcasting, not-for-profit governance or any other area the board considers appropriate.

Directors of Melbourne Community Television Consortium Ltd abide by the company's Directors Code of Conduct (PDF, 34k).

The Board is currently comprised of 7 directors:

Mike Zafiropoulos AM, JP  - Chair
Mike Zafiropoulos was the SBS General Manager in Melbourne for 13 years. Previously, he had held senior positions in the Department of Immigration and Multicultural Affairs, the Bureau of Immigration, Multiculturalism and Population Research and the Australian Institute of Multicultural Affairs. Mike's current voluntary service includes: Chair of Fronditha Care; Board Member of the Lord Mayor's Charitable Foundation and Life Australia Day Ambassador. He has an extensive and diverse background in community affairs, including Board member of the Royal Victorian Eye and Ear Hospital; chair of Regional Arts Victoria; chair Multicultural Arts Victoria; chair of Arts Victoria's Multicultural Arts Policy Advisory committee and deputy chair Ethnic Communities Council of Victoria. He has served also as Mayor of the City of Fitzroy. In 2016 he was elected Councillor of Manningham and currently serves as the City's Deputy Mayor.

May Kuok - President
May Kuok holds degrees of Bachelor of Business (Accounting), Postgrad Diploma (Insurance & Finance) and Masters (International Business). She is a Fellow of the Australia & New Zealand Institute of Insurance and Finance. Since 2000, May has served as an executive committee member of the Victoria Day Council. Previous appointments include a seat on the boat of the Monash University Council and as a member of the Monash Univesrity Finance and Risk Committee. May also has extensive experience of community television production, and in 2009 won an Antenna Award Outstanding Special Presentation for a documentary feature.

John Worcester - Deputy Chair

Peter McArthur - Director

Al Noveloso - Director

Gavin Henderson - Director

Julio Altamirano - Director

Marc C-Scott
Marc C-Scott is a lecturer in digital media and coordinator of the Bachelor of Interactive Media at Victoria University. Prior to this position, Marc taught at many institutions in the areas of digital media, video production, motion graphics, visual effects, web technologies along with project and research methodologies. He has been active in the area of digital media since 1996, completing a Bachelor of Design (Multimedia) with Honors at Swinburne University National School of Design in 2004. Marc is currently completing a PhD, which focuses on contemporary changes of Australian television, in particular the use of cross-media methods by television broadcasters. The research uses a historical comparative approach, investigating the changes of the television industries within Australia, United Kingdom and United States. His research interests are within television (history, institutions and new broadcast methods), cross-media, cross-platform media and the use of new digital media services.

Laura Racky
Laura Racky is the Director of the law firm llgold. She is an experienced senior corporate legal counsel with commercial and technical expertise developed in commercial litigation, banking, finance and insolvency. She is a solicitor admitted to the Supreme Court of Victoria. She obtained degrees in Law and Arts, and later a Masters degree in Commercial Law, at Monash University.

Luke White
Luke White holds a Bachelor of Business (Accounting) and Bachelor of Arts with Monash University, an Associate Diploma with the Australian Guild of Music and is a Chartered Accountant. He also holds a communications role with the executive of the Victorian Football Umpires Association. He currently works as the Senior Accountant for a State Government agency.

Tristan Masters
Tristan successfully completed his PhD in Econometrics from RMIT University in 2007, focusing on the supply and demand of regional arts in regional Victoria. Subsequently he has held a range of senior roles in Media within Australia and the US, with a focus on analytics and strategy in high growth start-up as well as established media environments. He brings a strong working knowledge of digital media, subscription television and digital advertising. Previously, Tristan worked as an Economist for the Australian media regulator, providing strategic input into radiofrequency spectrum management and regulatory frameworks across television and radio markets.

Terry Flander - Company Secretary
Terry Flander is the President of Oz Shalom TV Inc. He is also a committee member and treasurer of the Bicycle Recycle Shed; and was a Board Member of Preshil, The Margaret Lyttle Memorial School from 1996 to 2005, including acting as Treasurer in 2002-2003 and as President in 2003-2005.

Christy Karamzalis (Google guru, board director, strategy, advertising)
Christy Karamzalis is the Industry Head for Financial Services at Google Melbourne. Prior to joining Google 5 years ago, she spent time the majority of her career in a variety of banking and strategy roles in Hong Kong, Singapore and Melbourne. Christy has also been a Non-Executive Director at Holmesglen TAFE since July 2016. She holds a Bachelor of Economics with First Class Honours from the University of Melbourne.

The Board of Directors currently meets on the fourth Tuesday of each month.  The AGM is held on the fourth Thursday of November.





  Melbourne Community Television Consortium
Home Page / Contact Details
About MCTC
Annual Reports
Australian Television Links
Australian Communications and Media Authority
Community TV in Australia
C31 Melbourne and Geelong
TVS - Television Sydney
QCTV - Queensland Community TV
C31 Adelaide


Melbourne Community Television Consortium - Level 11, 277 William Street, Melbourne VIC 3000. Phone 03 9660 3131